## ATTACHMENT 1:



Our Ref. EDRM061-1643561414-23321

13 October 2022

Ms Julie Salomon Chief Executive Officer Strathbogie Shire Council PO Box 177 EUROA 3666

Dear Ms Salomon

## Upcoming program of local council electoral structure reviews

The Minister for Local Government has announced the formation of two Electoral Representation Advisory Panels (ERAPs) to conduct electoral structure reviews of 39 Victorian local councils and make a recommendation on their electoral structure prior to the 2024 local government elections.

Strathbogie Shire Council is one of the 39 local councils required by the Minister to have an electoral structure review.

This is the first time that an ERAP has been formed under the *Local Government Act 2020* (the Act) to undertake such reviews. Members of an ERAP are appointed by the Minister but must include the Electoral Commissioner (or delegate). Under the Act, the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) is tasked with providing administrative and technical support to an ERAP.

Electoral structure reviews are conducted under section 16 of the Act and consider the number of councillors, the internal electoral structure of the local council, and any other matter relating to the electoral structure that the Minister formally requests advice on. Changes to the boundaries of a local council are outside the scope of electoral structure reviews. An ERAP may conduct the review in any manner it considers appropriate and must include a process for community engagement.

During the coming weeks, my office will contact the VEC's election contact at Strathbogie Shire Council to schedule a briefing with you and/or your delegate(s) on behalf of the ERAPs. The briefing will aim to provide you with information on the process for the electoral structure review and finalise arrangements for the review, including any preliminary information required from Strathbogie Shire Council.

I have attached for your information the list of 39 councils within the electoral structure review program and the electoral structure options permitted under the Act.

If you have any questions, please contact the VEC's Local Government Program Manager, Lisa Osborne on (03) 8620 1145 or by email at lisa.osborne@vec.vic.gov.au.

Yours sincerely

Mhat

Warwick Gately AM Electoral Commissioner

Level 11, 530 Collins Street Melbourne Victoria 3000 T 03 8620 1100 info@vec.vic.gov.au vec.vic.gov.au

