Strathbogie Shire Council

Tel 24/7: 1800 065 993

Pavers commemorate Shire's VC recipients

Monday, 2 October, 2017

Three bluestone pavers were installed at the Travellers Rest on Kirkland Avenue, Euroa in honour of the Strathbogie Shire's Victoria Cross recipients.

This is part of a State Government initiative, in conjunction with the Victorian Anzac Centenary Committee, to help Victorians connect with their Anzac Centenary stories.

The three pavers, in honour of VC recipients Lieutenant-Colonel Leslie Maygar, Corporal Alexander Burton and Major Frederick Tubb, provide a great opportunity for locals and visitors stopping in Euroa to acknowledge the gallant efforts of these men.

The pavers complement the VC Memorial Park (also on Kirkland Avenue), which has three life-size bronze statues of Maygar, Burton and Tubb, complete with storyboards of the soldiers' history.

Click here for more information.

Image: (from left) Mayor Amanda McClaren, Euroa RSL sub branch vice-president Robert Holdsworth, Member for Northern Victoria Jaclyn Symes and Seven Creeks Ward Councillor John Mason.



Featured Links

Top of Page