Strathbogie Shire Council

Tel 24/7: 1800 065 993

Touch of European prestige at Noorilim Estate

Friday, January 20th, 2017

Nestled between Nagambie and Murchison in the Goulburn Valley is a mansion so prestigious it feels like it should belong in a European country.

Noorilim Estate, originally a 44,000 acre pastoral run, was built in 1879 under the design of architect James Gall.

Named after the local Ngurai-illum Aboriginal tribe and what could possibly translate to ‘many lagoons’, Noorilim and the surrounding Goulburn River Valley Region share a rich history that includes Aboriginal habitation, land barons, agriculture and more.

Victorian and Italian in style, this grand lady was built for MP (and grazier) William Irving Winter (who later changed his name to William Irving Winter-Irving), although he only resided there for about five years prior to assuming his seat in the Victorian Parliament.

Noorilim was one of many grand homesteads built by the Winter family, with another being located in Dhurringile, a 68-room mansion north of Murchison (which can be seen from Noorilim).

In 1988, the mansion was purchased by the Menzies family and was expanded with a combined 65 acres of Merlot, Cabernet, Shiraz, Viognier and Chardonnay.

The long driveway leading to Noorilim is surrounded by beautiful vineyards and an avenue of tall eucalyptus, while the tower has views of the Strathbogie Ranges to the east.

Having had 11 owners and users in its 136-year history, the estate is now open to the public as a tourist attraction and for events and functions.

Boasting 10 bedrooms with 15 fireplaces, visitors to the area as well as local residents need not travel very far to see a historic mansion on a similar scale to Werribee Park with its pristine grounds – which just happen to be the largest privately-owned botanic garden in the north-east.

The rooms feature a great variety of original artworks, with over 20 acres of garden with original trees like Morton Bay Figs, Red Pines, English Elms and more.

Noorilim Estate is open on Sundays at 11am, 1pm and 3pm for tours.

To book a function in the estate’s Grand Hall (built in 1988) or function room, respectively.

Visit or call 0402 009 860 for bookings.

Featured Links

Top of Page